Embracing Faith and Fellowship: Congo Christian Conference

In the challenging year of 2021 as COVID-19 illnesses, fears and restrictions raged, In Touch Mission International (ITMI) Director Steve Evers embarked on a global journey. He joined us to speak at our Christian Leaders’ Conference, in Cape Town. 

Steve’s instructional course, The Salt Training, encapsulates a Biblical discipleship methodology for both personal and community growth, covering seven vital life aspects.

Suffice to say, his message resonated. Feedback from our prior conference attendees attest to the transformative impact of the event:

  • “I was just coming because I thought I had some time on my hands. Little did I know that I was coming for my healing. I am healed! I have attended Christian Leader conferences before, but this one was different. I’m literally a new man!”
  • “I had to fight to come here, and I see why there was such a fight. I am delivered.”
  • “I learned a lot, especially about myself.”
  • “I have no words, except to say ‘POWERFUL’.”
  • “Powerful lessons! This surely must be continued with.”
  • “The conference was an eye-opener for me in many respects, especially in forgiveness. That touched me a lot.”
  • “One elderly pastor told me that from the coming Sunday his congregation was going to hear from a new pastor. He had phoned his wife and was traveling straight from the conference to go make right with his uncle and two sisters!”

So profound was the effect of Steve’s teachings that we chose to extend this learning to our Come and See Church community in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). 

Steve has kindly consented to visit and conduct sessions there.

The Seven Areas of Life Training (SALT) is a comprehensive discipleship series, teaching God’s vision for seven key life aspects: spiritual, psychological, social, physical, financial, marital, and parental. 

This integrated approach offers a comprehensive framework for Biblical discipleship, impacting both personal and community spheres.

SALT enables participants to prayerfully consider the key areas, study the Scriptures that teach them, and put these teachings into practice.  

Key areas include:

Spiritual Growth: In a region where spirituality is deeply ingrained, SALT seeks to enhance Congolese Christians’ connection with the Lord, fostering resilience and purpose amidst conflict.

Physical Health: The Come and See Church’s health-focused ministries, including clinics and a pharmacy, align with SALT’s emphasis on healthcare access, hygiene, and nutrition, vital for physical well-being in the Congolese setting.

Psychological Resilience: Addressing the mental scars of civil conflict, SALT offers strategies for coping, forgiveness, and healing, bolstering mental resilience.

Social Connectivity: The training promotes community unity and strong social bonds, essential in collective discipleship.

Financial Empowerment: Addressing poverty, the program includes financial literacy, entrepreneurship, and income generation, aiming for Biblical-based economic self-reliance.

Through SALT, we aspire to invigorate leadership, instill fresh Biblical perspectives, provide ministry tools, foster unity, offer support, and address pressing ministry challenges. 

As Galatians 6:6 reminds us, “One who is taught the Word must share all good things with the one who teaches.

Please join us—Steve, Brian, Oscar, and I, and all our ministry partners—in prayer as we serve the Lord in Congo!

Charl van Wyk

PS. Redtco founder, Bishop Lamba Lamba, in August 2023 hosted us to share experiences and insights on the practical application of Biblical principles to the socio-political arena viz. a God and Government conference. We are thrilled that after the December elections four parliamentary seats were gained by Redtco members. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment